creation

The Cloud

Arkadi Zaides
Institut des Croisements

info production

x

The Cloud is a performance that explores the natural/artificial phenomena of a cloud and its complex material and symbolical relation to human agency. Zaides and his collaborators reflect on how, much like natural clouds, many aspects of new technologies elude our full understanding and integration into daily life, particularly highlighting the elusive and expansive nature of artificial intelligence.

The piece also weaves in the notion of "hyperobjects," a term coined by American philosopher Timothy Morton to describe phenomena or entities that are vast in scale and complexity, exceeding human comprehension and posing significant ecological threats, such as nuclear energy or climate change.
Onstage, performers navigate a vibrant and intricate setup that blends video, archival materials, sound, lighting, text, and movement while critically examining the potential for global collapse in the Anthropocene era.

Ultimately, The Cloud proposes an unexpected hybridisation between documentary and phantasmic aspects of its concerns and its dispositive: demonstrating what it wants to consider, and considering what it wants to demonstrate, in a real time of the stage performance.

credits

x

choreography & direction Arkadi Zaides
performers Axel Chemla-Romeu-Santos, Misha Demoustier, Arkadi Zaides
dramaturgy Igor Dobricic
cinematofraphy
Arthur Castro Freire
AI development and sound
Axel Chemla-Romeu-Santos
light Jan Mergaert
technical direction Etienne Exbrayat

production & administration
Simge Gücük / Institut des Croisements
executive producer
laGeste
co-producers Montpellier Danse (FR), Charleroi Danse (BE), Maison de la Danse (FR), Mousonturm (DE), CAMPO (BE)
Residency PACT Zollverein (DE), Orbita | Spellbound National Production Center for Dance (IT), Dialoghi / Villa Manin, CSS Teatro stabile di innovazione del Friuli Venezia Giulia (IT)
international distribution Cecilia Kuska & Rui Silveira / Something Great
supported by The Ministry of Culture of France / Directorate General for Artistic Creation, TMU New York, City of Ghent, Flemish Authorities and the Belgian Federal Government's Tax Shelter measure through Flanders Tax Shelter

calender (8)

x

practical

x

duration 1h
language English
no subtitles

when premiere 16.05.2024 & 17.05.2024
where Campo
tickets via Campo

pictures

x

in the press

x

‘Just as contamination spread in the cloud that drifted west, so our image of Chernobyl - or any image really - is being sullied by AI that has become elusive. And so this can happen to all images, to all memories, to all history: that's the suggestion I get anyway, and it's not a pretty thought.’

'Nevertheless, Zaides offers a strong reflection on our (virtual) time spirit: modern technology can solve a lot, yet paradoxically we seem to be losing our grip on the ecological and societal dangers that hang over our heads like a looming cloud cover.'

bio

x

extra

x

video-interview with Arkadi Zaides about The Cloud

création

The Cloud

Arkadi Zaides
Institut des Croisements

info production

x

The Cloud est une performance qui explore le phénomène naturel/artificiel d'un nuage et sa relation matérielle et symbolique complexe avec l'action humaine. Zaides et ses compagnons réfléchissent à la manière dont, à l'instar des nuages naturels, de nombreux aspects des nouvelles technologies échappent à notre pleine compréhension et à notre intégration dans la vie quotidienne, en soulignant notamment la nature insaisissable et expansive de l'intelligence artificielle.

La pièce intègre également la notion "hyperobjets", un terme inventé par le philosophe américain Timothy Morton pour décrire des phénomènes ou des entités dont l'échelle et la complexité sont considérables, dépassant l'entendement humain et posant des menaces écologiques importantes, telles que l'énergie nucléaire ou le changement climatique.

Sur scène, les interprètes naviguent dans une installation vibrante et complexe qui mêle vidéo, documents d'archives, son, éclairage, texte et mouvement, tout en examinant de manière critique le potentiel d'effondrement mondial à l'ère de l'Anthropocène.

En fin de compte, The Cloud propose une hybridation inattendue entre les aspects documentaires et fantasmatiques de ses préoccupations et de son dispositif : démontrant ce qu'il veut considérer, et considérant ce qu'il veut démontrer, dans un temps réel de la performance scénique.

crédits

x

choreographie et direction Arkadi Zaides
interprètes
Axel Chemla-Romeu-Santos, Roger Sala Reyner, Arkadi Zaides
dramaturgie Igor Dobricic
cinématographie
Arthur Castro Freire
AI developement et son
Axel Chemla-Romeu-Santos
lumière
Jan Mergaert
direction technique Etienne Exbravat

production et administration
Simge Gücük / Institut des Croisements
production exécutif laGeste
coproduction Montpellier Danse (FR), Charleroi Danse (BE), Maison de la Danse (FR), Mousonturm (DE), CAMPO (BE)
Residency support PACT Zollverein (DE), Orbita | Spellbound National Production Center for Dance (IT), Dialoghi / Villa Manin, CSS Teatro stabile di innovazione del Friuli Venezia Giulia (IT)
distribution internationale Cecilia Kuska & Rui Silveira / Something Great
avec l’appui de la ville de Gand, les authorités flamandes et la mesure Tax Shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge via Flanders Tax Shelter, The Ministry of Culture of France / Directorate General for Artistic Creation, TMU New York

calendrier (7)

x

pratique

x

durée 1h
langage anglais
pas de surtitre

quand Première 16.05.2024 & 17.05.2024
Campo
billets via Campo

photos

x

bio

x