creation

someone will always be missing

Joke Laureyns & Kwint Manshoven
laGeste (les ballets C de la B + kabinet k)

info production

x

Someone will always be missing links twelve dancers in six duets: each time they stand two by two, an adult dancer and a young child, both of Palestinian origin and each with their own background. They live on the West Bank, in Gaza, East Jerusalem, in the camps of Lebanon, in Israel or in Belgium. Each duet starts from an intense encounter and reveals context, stories, tensions and sensitivities. Each encounter is a search for understanding and trust, for mutual connection.

Perhaps they will never all physically share the stage together, given the geopolitical barriers. But the desire is there. It is precisely this desire that determines the dynamics of the performance; absence and loss will colour every performance differently.

With someone will always be missing, Belgian choreographers Kwint Manshoven and Joke Laureyns create a physical performance that spans several generations of Palestinians and interweaves various ways of life. The challenge will be to make the absence present.

credits

x

direction Joke Laureyns, Kwint Manshoven
dance duets between professional dancers and children from Palestine

production laGeste (Gent)
co-production Freedom Theatre (Jenin), Dansens Hus (Oslo), VIERNULVIER (Gent), TANDEM Scène nationale (Arras/Douai), hetpaleis
With the support of the Belgian Federal Government's Tax Shelter measure through Flanders Tax Shelter

related news

x

practical

x

on tour from November 2023. More information on the touring: helena@lageste.be

pictures

x
© Kurt Van der Elst | © Kwint Manshoven

bio

x

création

someone will always be missing

Joke Laureyns & Kwint Manshoven
laGeste (les ballets C de la B + kabinet k)

info production

x

someone will always be missing relie douze danseurs dans six duos : à chaque fois, ils sont deux par deux, un danseur adulte et un jeune enfant, tous deux d'origine palestinienne et ayant chacun leur propre parcours. Ils vivent en Cisjordanie, à Gaza, à Jérusalem-Est, dans les camps du Liban, en Israël ou en Belgique. Chaque duo part d'une rencontre intense et révèle un contexte, des histoires, des tensions et des sensibilités. Chaque rencontre est une recherche de compréhension et de confiance, de connexion mutuelle.

Peut-être ne partageront-ils jamais physiquement la scène ensemble, étant donné les barrières géopolitiques. Mais le désir est là. C'est précisément ce désir qui détermine la dynamique de la performance ; l'absence et la perte coloreront chaque performance différemment.

Avec someone will always be missing, les chorégraphes belges Kwint Manshoven et Joke Laureyns créent une performance physique qui traverse plusieurs générations de Palestiniens et entremêle divers modes de vie. Le défi sera de rendre l'absence présente.

crédits

x

mise en scène Joke Laureyns, Kwint Manshoven
danse duos entre des danseurs professionnels et des enfants de Palestine

production laGeste (Gent)
coproduction Freedom Theatre (Jenin), Dansens Hus (Oslo), VIERNULVIER (Gent), TANDEM Scène nationale (Arras/Douai) et hetpaleis
Avec le soutien de la mesure Tax Shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge via Flanders Tax Shelter

actualités

x

pratique

x

en tournée à partir de novembre 2023. Plus d'informations sur la diffusion : helena@lageste.be

photos

x
© Kurt Van der Elst | © Kwint Manshoven

bio

x